IGFA Recognition Awards

Each year at the IGFA International Auction & Banquet, the IGFA honors outstanding achievers in conservation, light and heavy tackle, and sportsmanship. To make a nomination for any of the following awards, please contact IGFA headquarters at 954-927-2628 or [email protected].

The IGFA Conservation Awards were established in 1993 and given to honor those who have made significant and outstanding contributions to the cause of conservation in the freshwater, saltwater and fly fishing communities.

American Sportfishing Association (1999) Tim Choate (2013) Tom Fote (1997) Bob Kurz (2012) Dr. Marcos Ostrander (2000) Shimano (2011)
Captain Al Anderson (1996) Club Nautico Guatemala and the Asociacion de Pesca Deportiva Guatemala (2009) Scott Furman (1996) Gerry Leach (2005) Monty Padilla (2005) Eddie Smith (2001)
Terri Kittredge Andrews (1997) Coastal Conservation Association (2007) Congressman Wayne T. Gilchrest (1996) Rachel Lightbourne (2011) The Government of Panama (President Ernesto Perez Balladares) (1999) Minerva Saenz Smith (2008)
Jose “Pepe” Anton (2002) Confederación Española de Pesca Marítima de Recreo Responsible Spain (2010) Esteban Graupera (2007) Long Island Sound Alliance (1998) Dr. Julian Pepperell (1999) Sacha Tolstoi (1993)
Aquatic Release Network (2006) Costa del Mar Sunglasses (2005) Gardner Grant (1997) Will Martin (1995) Dick Pool (2009) United Anglers of Southern California (2004)
The Government of Australia (2000) Joseph F. Culliman III (2004) Dr. John Graves (2007) Ricardo Martinelli, President of the Republic of Panama (2011) Puerto Rico Sportfishing Association (2000) The Government of Venezuela (1997)
George Barley (1996) C.M. “Rip” Cunningham (1994) Peter Goadby (1998) Frank Mather (2000) Richard S. Reagan (1995) Joan Vernon (2001)
Pete Barrett (2000) Larry Dahlberg (1999) Country of Guatemala (2002) Greg McIntosh (2010) George Reiger (2000) Ralph “Agie” Vicente (2004)
Bass Pro (2008) Jim Donofrio (Recreational Fishing Alliance) (2003) Elwood K. Harry (1993) Stanley Meltzoff (1996) John Rybovich (1994) Orri Vigfusson/North Atlantic Salmon Fund (2005)
Marsha Bierman (1993) Albia Dugger (1995) Robert T. Healey (Viking Yachts) (2003) Mercury Marine (2004) Carl Safina (2001) US Senator David Vitter (2013)
Dr. Barbara Block (2002) Robert A. Eakes (1998) Hell’s Bay Boatworks (2010) Jeff Merrill (2000) Salt Water Sportsman Magazine (2001) Tsutomu Wakabayashi (Japan Game Fish Association) (1998)
Bonefish Tarpon Trust (2012) Dr. Sylvia A. Earle (1996) George T. Hommell Jr. (2003) US Representative Jeff Miller (2013) Jack Samson (1996) Jim and Kelly Watt (1994)
Luis Bulnes (2006) Marco and Tracy Ehrenberg (1995) Hubbs-SeaWorld Research Institute (2014) National Coalition for Marine Conservation (2013) William Sawynok (2009) Dick Weber (1997)
Capt. Bubba Carter (1993) Jose Miguel Diaz Escrich (2001) International Women’s Fishing Association (IWFA) (2002) Dr. Ken Neill III (2014) Ray Scott (1994) Whirling Disease Foundation (2000)
Francisco Rangel Castelazo (1995) Federation of Fly Fishers (2006) Evan Jones (2010) The Government of New Zealand (1998) Congressman John Shadegg (2011) Karl Wickstrom (1995)
Catskill Flyfishing Center Museum (2002) FishBase (Drs. Daniel Pauly & Rainer Froese) (2008) King Sailfish Mounts (2014) Paxson “Packy” Offield (2008) Bill Shedd (AFTCO Manufacturing Company) (1999) Joan Wulff (1993)
Center for Coastal Conservation (2011) William Feinberg (2000) Ann Kunkel (1994)      


The Gilbert Keech Heavy Tackle (established in 2000) and Bob Herder Light Tackle (established in 2006) Awards represent endowments to the IGFA from the Ocean City Light Tackle Club.  The purpose of the Keech and Herder Awards is to acknowledge outstanding achievements in the fields of heavy and light tackle angling, respectively.  Achievements may include but are not limited to:

• New heavy or light tackle records
• Outstanding catches on heavy or light tackle that are released and reported to IGFA
• Outstanding innovations in fishing methods or equipment in heavy or light tackle Fishing

Barry Alty (2013) Dr. Ruben Jaen  C (2004) Enrico Capozzi (2008)
John W. Anderson II (2002) Bob Lowe (2006) Gary Carter (2009)
Dr. Barbara Block (2011) Allen Merritt (2009) Bark Garnsey (2010)
Capt. Peter Bristow (2008) Neil Patrick (2012) Eryn & Guy Jacobsen (2012)
Rolf Czabayski (2014) Richard Richardson Warran Klawans (2013)
Barry Fitzpatrick (2001) Capt. Laurie Wright (2010) Michael J. Levitt (2007)
Alfred C. Glassell, Jr. (2005) Capt. Peter B. Wright (2007) Stephen Sloan (2006)
Elwood K. Harry (2000)   Capt. Skip Smith (2011)
    Raleigh Werking (2014)


The IGFA – Chester H. Wolfe Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, established in 2011, is given in memory of Mr. Wolfe and his love of sportfishing and the fellowship the sport promotes. Receipt of this award is based on merit, fair play, graciousness, respect, and ethical behavior that an angler displays while fishing in a tournament. The recipient will be considered for this award based on their love of fishing, respect towards the tournament officials and rules, as well as the basic competitive nature the sport encourages. To see a list of participating tournaments and award winners, please click here.